TCD Student's Union 1st Council Minutes 2022/23

18 October 2022

Stanley Quek Theatre, TBSI

Chair: Emma Gallagher

Secretary: Maggie Larson

Minutes: Maggie Larson, Secretary to Council

Simon Evans, Administrative Officer

Emma Gallagher welcomed everyone to the first Council of 2022/23. She introduced Maggie Larson, Secretary and the EC. She then gave an overview of Council and SU structures, including rules and regulations for the meeting.

1. Minutes

The minutes of the final Council meeting of 2021/22, held on 05/04/22, were approved.

2. Matters arising

Deferred OC report was taken as read, with any matters arising from this report to be brought to next Council.

Procedural Motion A

Gabi Fullam, President, proposed a Procedural Motion A to suspend standing orders to move the Terms of Reference of the Campaign Committee to the next item on the agenda before council elections.

The motion was carried.

Motion to Amend the Terms of Reference of Campaigns Committee

Gabi briefed Council on the Motion. She noted the purpose of the Motion is to expand and make the Campaigns Committee work better.

The motion was carried.

3. Elections

- 1. Electoral Commission (EC)
 - a. Ordinary Members: Hugh Ó Ríordáin and Nina Crofts were elected
- 2. Oversight Commission
 - a. Ordinary Member: Jack Leahy was elected
- 3. Student Parent Officer
 - a. No nominations
- 4. Undergraduate Studies Committee (USC) Representative
 - a. Yannick Gloster was elected
- 5. Education Committee
 - a. Professional placement / internship Rep: Aisling Burns elected
 - b. Wet Lab Rep: Jade Schanen elected
 - c. Access Programme Rep: Sarah Selfati Harte elected
 - d. Mature Student Rep: Ruan Stoop elected
 - e. Disability Service Rep: Eoin Connolly elected
 - f. Commuter Rep: Katie-Louise Murray elected

- g. Dual BA Rep: Eloise Maybank elected
- h. Erasmus Exchange Rep: Eve Fitzgerald elected
- i. Ordinary members (3): Julie Dory, Casey Schwartz, Selma Catibusic elected
- 6. Welfare & Equality committee: Chloe Staunton, Welfare & Equality Officer, proposed a motion K to defer the elections to next Council. A point of order was raised that motion K does not apply to elections. The Welfare Officer asked Council to defer the election to next Council to allow applications to be assessed first. As there were no nominations, the elections were deferred to next council.
- 7. Comms & Marketing Committee
 - a. Sponsorship Officer: Nadia A elected
 - b. Photography & Videography Officer: Vilte Bivainyte elected
 - c. OCM: Peter Walsh elected
- 8. TJH Committee
 - a. Secretary: Ella Albert Wade elected
 - b. Erasmus Liaison Officer: Aislinn McDaid elected
 - c. Capstone Rep: Ciaran Murphy elected
 - d. OCM (3): Ana Puirseil, Nathan Harrington, Meabh Scahill elected
- 9. Working Student Accommodation Working Group
 - a. Chairperson: Catherine Arnold elected
 - b. OCM (3): Eve Gaynor elected, other positions vacant
- 10. Campaigns Committee
 - a. OCM (8): Lászlo Molnárfi, Eoin Connolly, Brendon Henry Parsegh Kekedjian, Maeve Sheehan, Selma Catibusic, Omnia Kharief, Katie McClain, Divyum Singhal elected
- 11. Access Committee
 - a. OCM (2): Harry Hannon, Barry Mulvey elected

4. Sabbatical Officers Report

- (a) President: Gabi asked for her report to be taken as read. There were no questions.
- (b) Education: Zoe asked for her report to be taken as read. She reminded classes to continue to elect Class Reps where there are vacancies and she looked forward to Class Rep training which is coming up this weekend and a prize was award to Andrea O'Grady Fernandez.
- (c) Comms: Julie asked for her report to be taken as read. There were no questions.
- (d) Welfare: Chloe asked for her report to be taken as read and she reminded Class Reps about the office hours for the Welfare office.
- (e) Ents: Max asked for his report to be taken as read and was much complimented on his haircut.

5. Discussion items

- 1. Schedule 3 and Student Engagement
 - a. This was presented by Laszlo Molnarfi, SSP School Convenor. He argued that the Schedule was unworkable; he also felt it was unfair, and was not even fully enforced by the EC.
 - b. Ruaidhrí Saulnier stated that the SU needs structure in its elections, noted that we are full time students and cannot be expected to interpret the Constitution.
 - c. Yannick Gloster noted that Sch 3 was not perfect but was there to give structure to elections and was very important. He also claimed that Laszlo's points of disagreement were false and the rules are there to make things fair.
 - d. Laszlo replied that this was not a censure but also stated that the EC does not follow its own rules.

2. Hybrid vs non-Hybrid Learning for CompSci Modules This discussion item was withdrawn.

3. D'Olier Street Issues

The discussion items on "Chairs in Room 1.10 D'oiler street", "Heating in D'oiler street" and "Attendance monitoring" were presented to council by Aaron McDonnell, JS Nursing (Psychiatric) Class Rep.

The President and Education Officer noted these issues and will follow up with the Nursing School. It was recommended that these types of items should be presented to the HS Faculty Assembly or brought to the attention of the sabbatical team who would then raise them with the appropriate college authority.

A quorum count was called at 8.50pm. As Council was not quorate, the meeting ended.